Originally posted on Carrie's Blog:

I have been moving in this direction for the past year, but after a discussion with my Saturday students this week, I’ve finally decided to more formally adopt a flipped classroom. For an overview of the flipped model, check out “The Flipped Classroom Infographic”.

The following definition is from Michigan State University’s Office of Faculty and Organizational Development:

In “flipped classes” students use technology at home to watch online video lectures, demonstrations, and explanations of assignments.  Class time is spent doing what is traditionally called “homework.”  The teacher in a flipped classroom is a learning facilitator, able to work one-to-one with students, clarify assignments, and offer help as needed.  Classmates can work together on in-class assignments, engage in discussions, or collaborate on projects.

A major benefit is that teachers spend more time working directly with students instead of lecturing to them.  The downside is the need for access to…

View original 690 more words

3 Responses to “”


  1. 1 Anonymous March 5, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    I think it is going to be good I am excited to try especially if I can get a good grade pass my class and of course take with me knowledge!! So for Carrie you are a good teacher I just have to work on my grammar thank you for you caring the way you do for your students.

  2. 2 Elena March 5, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    did you leave any thoughts on our chapter?

    • 3 cnepstad March 6, 2013 at 6:16 am

      Hi Elena, I haven’t done a video clip regarding our chapter yet. That’s a good idea though and I will work on it today. I’ll post an announcement in Blackboard once it is ready. Thanks! Carrie

      Carrie Nepstad, MS Associate Professor, Child Development Applied Science Department, room 712E Harold Washington College, one of the City Colleges of Chicago 312-553-6095

      ________________________________________


Leave a Reply

