Announcing the First Annual ACCESS Awards



We are really pleased to announce that ACCESS and NAECTE are hosting an awards reception tonight in Anaheim. Please see the program below and join me in honoring a group of outstanding colleagues in the field.

2010 National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators

2010 American Associate Degree Early Childhood Educators

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, November 3, 2010, 6:30 p.m.

Anaheim Marriott, Platinum Ballroom 1

Anaheim, California


NAECTE Welcome: Nancy Freeman, NAECTE President


ACCESS Welcome:              Mary Garguile, ACCESS President


Introduction of Awards: Paula McMurray-Schwarz, Chair NAECTE Awards Committee



NAECTE/Pearson Outstanding Early Childhood Teacher Educator Award

Janis Strasser

William Paterson University

Presented by Holly Seplocha, Nominator, and Julie Peters, Pearson

NAECTE/Pearson Outstanding Dissertation Award

Sandra Bequette

Oklahoma State University

Kindergarten Students’ Exploratory Math Talk Within a Collaborative Discourse Community

Presented by Kathryn Castle, Nominator, and Julie Peters, Pearson

NAECTE/Cengage Learning Outstanding Early Childhood Practitioner Award

Angela Carr

Kindergarten Teacher

Huntsville City Schools, Alabama

Presented by Amanda Branscombe, Nominator, and Kara Kindstrom, Cengage Learning

Amanda Branscombe will be accepting the award on behalf of Angela Carr

NAECTE/Taylor & Francis Outstanding JECTE Journal Article

Janice Kroeger, Sandra Pech, & Jennifer Cope

Kent State University

Investigating Change in Field Sites through Mentor and Candidate Dialogues

Presented by Amos Hatch, Susan Benner, JECTE Editors, and Krish Singh, Taylor and Francis


NAECTE/Taylor & Francis Outstanding JECTE Journal Article Honorable Mention

Linda Hestenes, Karen LaParo, Catherine Scott-Little, Swetha Chakravarthi, Joanna Lower, Angie Cranor, Deborah Cassidy, & Judith Niemeyer

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Team Teaching in an Early Childhood Interdisciplinary Program: A Decade of Lessons Learned

Presented by Amos Hatch, Susan Benner, JECTE Editors, and Krish Singh, Taylor and Francis

NAECTE Foundation Research Award

Desalyn De-Souza

Syracuse University

Child Care Center Directors’ Perceptions of Continuity of Care: A Qualitative Investigation

Presented by Mary Jensen, NAECTE Foundation President


ACCESS Outstanding Achievement in the Field, Partnership Award

Camille Catlett


Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Presented by Mary Garguile, ACCESS President & Kim Horejs, ACCESS VP of Membership

ACCESS Shared Knowledge and Practices Award

Alison Lutton

Senior Director Higher Education Accreditation and Program Support, NAEYC

ACCESS Past President

Presented by Debra Murphy, ACCESS VP of Professional Development & Elisa Huss-Hage, ACCESS Treasurer

ACCESS Gail Perry Teacher Research Award

Debra Murphy


Cape Cod Community College, MA

Presented by Carrie Nepstad, ACCESS President Elect & Nancy Beaver, ACCESS VP of Collaborations

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!


0 Responses to “Announcing the First Annual ACCESS Awards”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

Flickr Photos



%d bloggers like this: