Getting ready

It’s that time of year again – time for the NAEYC Annual Conference and Expo!

The leaves are a gorgeous red, orange, and yellow here in Chicago and we have had a stretch of crisp Autumn days with sunny blue skies and cool air. I’m having a hard time packing for Florida, although it won’t be too difficult to spend a little extended time in a warmer climate as I brace for the Midwestern winter.

I’m getting ready for the conference. I’m in the stage where I wake up in the middle of the night with a running list going through my mind! There are so many behind-the-scenes activities that the ACCESS Board does for weeks before each of the conferences in order to provide the best experiences for ACCESS members. Thank you ACCESS Board – you are amazing!

I’m very excited about our line-up this year. Please see the ACCESS Orlando Program 10-24-11 for details.

I’d like some input from you. During our joint lunch session with NAECTE Debra Murphy and I will be panelists on a discussion about the future of teacher preparation. Each panelist will speak for 15 min.

Here is what I’m planning to talk about:

  1. higher education and teacher preparation under scrutiny
  2. the way to move forward is through collaboration
  3. trends in teacher preparation include a) documentation (which includes assessment of student learning), b) fieldwork, and c) Cultural, Linguistic, and Ability Diversity (CLAD).
  4. I will end with a reminder to keep students at the center of all collaborative work as we move forward and I’ll share a personal story about my own students.

I’ve tried a new format for presenting called, Prezi Have you used it before?

It has been fun to play; something to try beyond Power Point. I’m not sure if I like it or not but it was a neat way to organize my thoughts.

Here is what I need from you:

What are your thoughts about the future of teacher preparation?

As an organization, how can we address the criticisms about teacher preparation while moving forward and addressing the needs of our students and ultimately the needs of young children and their families?

Here is my presentation. When you click the play button it will take you to the main points of the talk. You can then use your mouse at each point to see the images and text at each heading or click the zoom button and zoom in for details or zoom out to see the whole map.

Please comment on this post with your thoughts, and I will try to incorporate them into the discussion.

thanks!

Leave a Reply

